Designers Howell Binkley, Rupert Bohle, Allen Moyer, and Anita Yavich were among the winners of the 2006 Henry Hewes Design Awards, presented at a luncheon at Sardi's, in the heart of the Broadway theatre district, on Thursday, November 9, 2007.

Presented annually by the American Theatre Wing, these awards were originally called the Maharam Awards when launched in 1965, and later known as the American Theatre Wing Design Awards. They were renamed for theatre critic Henry Hewes, who served as a board member of the American Theatre Wing until his death in 1999.

Allen Moyer won for his scenic designs for Grey Gardens, currently on Broadway at the Walter Kerr Theatre; Anita Yavich for her costume design for Measure for Pleasure at the Public Theatre; Howell Binkley for his lighting of the hit Broadway musical, Jersey Boys; and Ruppert Bohle for his projection design in Ping Chong's Cathay: Three Tales of China. A final award was presented to Stephen Kaplin and Wang Bo for their puppetry in Cathay: Three Tales of China, which was seen in New York at the New Victory Theatre.

This year's awards committee included theater critics Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, Tish Dace, Michael Feingold, Glenda Frank, Mario Fratti, Randy Gener, and Joan Ungaro. The awards were given for productions that were seen on Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Off-Off-Broadway during the 2005-2006 season.