Shure endorsers took top honors at this year's 37th Annual Gospel Music Association Music Awards on April 5. Chris Tomlin was named Artist of the Year and Male Vocalist of the Year, while his song “How Great Is Our God,” won for Song of the Year and Worship Song of the Year. The David Crowder Band walked away with honors for Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year and Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year. Both endorsers performed their hit songs on Shure’s UHF-R Wireless Systems with KSM9 capsules.

"Every year it’s a rewarding experience to watch all of the evening’s performers win big and sound incredible," says Ryan Smith of Shure Artist Relations Nashville. "The genre of gospel music continues to diversify, and many of these artists are crossing over into mainstream radio. I think that speaks volumes for the appeal this music has on the industry today.”

Also performing at this year’s GMAs were Shure endorsers BarlowGirl, Third Day, and Kirk Franklin. With their hit song, “Cry Out To Jesus,” Third Day accepted honors for Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year, and Kirk Franklin was awarded Urban Song of the Year and Urban Album of the Year.

GMA production manager Denny Keitzman of Strait Gate Productions put his trust in Shure products and a stage blueprint designed to optimize reliability and performance. Shure had the entire stage covered with microphones for all performing vocalists and instrumentalists throughout the evening.

“Shure really came to the party to make the 37th edition of the Gospel Music Awards the huge success that it was,” Keitzman says. ”This year's show was, by far, the best one with which I have been associated. The audio production was flawless for the evening thanks, in no small part to, not only the quantity, but also the quality of equipment Shure supplied. The new wireless vocal mics delivered superb quality from a wide range of vocal styles and we had absolutely no RF problems for three days of rehearsal and the show.”

The 37th Annual GMA Music Awards will be televised in national syndication through May 21.