Theatre artists will be honored with Henry Hewes Design Awards during a dual presentation of its 2011 and 2012 Awards in a ceremony for October 29.

The 2012 honorees include David Korins for his scenic design for Chinglish (Broadway), Brian MacDevitt for his lighting design for Death of a Salesman (Broadway), Daniel Kluger for his sound design for Tribes (Barrow Street Theatre), and Gregg Barnes for his costumes for Follies (Broadway). (Check out Playbill's gallery of sketches of Barnes' constumes.)

The 2011 Henry Hewes Awards, announced earlier this year, include John Lee Beatty for his scenic design of The Whipping Man, William Ivey Long for his costume design for The School for Lies, Jeff Croiter for his lighting design for Peter and the Starcatcher, and David Rockwell and Batwin+Robin for their work on the scenery and projections of The Normal Heart.

The HHDA Committee named honorees in four categories: Scenic Design, Costume Design, Lighting Design, and Notable Effects. As of the 2012 awards, the Committee has bestowed 281 honors on 180 artists representing 195 productions.

Related Articles