Nominations have been announced for the 51st Annual Drama Desk Awards, which honor excellence in theatre for Broadway, Off Broadway, and Off-Off Broadway during the season. Leading the slate of nominees is The Drowsy Chaperone, which received 14 nominations. Grey Gardens followed with 12 nominations, and two shows received 9 nominations each–See What I Wanna See and Sweeney Todd. The Wedding Singer and Jersey Boys each received eight nominations.

The Drowsy Chaperone, which is the Broadway show attendees of the Broadway Sound Master Classes will see on May 19, receive design nominations for David Gallo’s sets, Gregg Barnes’ costumes, and Acme Sound Partners’ sound. The Acme Partners—Tom Clark, Mark Menard, and Nevin Steinberg, will be speaking at the BSMC. Acme was nominated for both Chaperone and See What I Wanna See; sound designer Brian Ronan was another dual nominee, for Pajama Game and Grey Gardens.

Below are the production, design, and direction nominees:

Outstanding Play:

  • Alan Bennett, The History Boys
  • David Hare, Stuff Happens
  • Warren Leight, No Foreigners Beyond this Point
  • Martin McDonagh, The Lieutenant of Inishmore
  • Terrence McNally, Dedication or The Stuff of Dreams
  • Craig Wright, The Pavilion

Outstanding Musical:

  • The Drowsy Chaperone
  • Grey Gardens
  • Jersey Boys
  • See What I Wanna See
  • Thrill Me
  • The Wedding Singer

Outstanding Revival of a Play:

  • Awake and Sing!
  • The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial
  • Philadelphia, Here I Come!
  • Soldier’s Wife
  • The Traveling Lady
  • The Trip to Bountiful

Outstanding Revival of a Musical:

  • Jacques Brel is Alive and Well and Living in Paris
  • The Pajama Game
  • Sweeney Todd

Outstanding Director of a Play:

  • Alan Ayckbourn, Private Fears in Public Places
  • Gisela Cardenas, Agamemnon
  • Nicholas Hytner, The History Boys
  • Daniel Sullivan, Stuff Happens
  • Robert Wilson, Peer Gynt
  • Jerry Zaks, The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial

Outstanding Director of a Musical:

  • John Doyle, Sweeney Todd
  • Michael Greif, Grey Gardens
  • Kathleen Marshall, The Pajama Game
  • Des McAnuff, Jersey Boys
  • Casey Nicholaw, The Drowsy Chaperone
  • Daniele Finzi Pasca, Rain

Outstanding Set Design of a Play:

  • Roger Hanna, Walking Down Broadway
  • Eugene Lee, The Ruby Sunrise
  • Derek McLane, Abigail’s Party
  • Robert Wilson, Peer Gynt
  • Michael Yeargan, Awake and Sing!
  • Michael Yeargan, Seascape

Outstanding Set Design of a Musical:

  • Michael Bottari & Ron Case, Fanny Hill
  • John Doyle, Sweeney Todd
  • David Gallo, The Drowsy Chaperone
  • Thomas Lynch, See What I Wanna See
  • Allen Moyer, Grey Gardens
  • Scott Pask, The Wedding Singer

Outstanding Costume Design:

  • Gregg Barnes, The Drowsy Chaperone
  • Eric Becker, Abigail’s Party
  • Gale Gregory, The Wedding Singer
  • William Ivey Long, Grey Gardens
  • Jacques Reynaud, Peer Gynt
  • Anita Yavich, The Wooden Breeks

Outstanding Lighting Design:

  • Christopher Akerlind, Awake and Sing!
  • Richard G. Jones, Sweeney Todd
  • Traci Klainer, The Asphalt Kiss
  • Martin Labrecque, Rain
  • John McKernon, The Trip to Bountiful
  • Robert Wilson, Peer Gynt

Outstanding Sound Design:

  • Acme Sound Partners, The Drowsy Chaperone
  • Acme Sound Partners, See What I Wanna See
  • Steve Canyon Kennedy, Jersey Boys
  • Daniel Moses Schreier, Sweeney Todd
  • Brian Ronan, Grey Gardens
  • Brian Ronan, The Pajama Game

The 51st ANNUAL DRAMA DESK AWARDS will be presented on Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 9:00 PM, at the LaGuardia Concert Hall at Lincoln Center, 100 Amsterdam Avenue.