The 2003 EDDY Awards, held Friday, June 27 at John Jay Theatre in New York City, was the most successful yet, attracting over 300 guests who came to honor the various winners, and of course, have a refreshing cocktail or two with industry friends. The photos below are but sampling of the madcap hijinks on display during the opening reception.

The Mt. Rushmore of theatrical design: Abe Jacob, Jules Fisher, Richard Pilbrow, and Tony Walton.

Natsha Katz and Dan Moses Schreier with son Milo, daughter Gemma, and Gemma's friend Emily.

From right: lighting designer Sara Sidman, projection designer Elaine McCarthy, set designer Lauren Helpern, Lauren's mom, and NYU's Barbara Cokarinos.

Second Stage artistic director Carole Rothman, lighting designer Jules Fisher, Gregory Nergaard, costume designer Mara Blumenfeld, and lighting designer TJ Gerckens.

Metamporphoses wardrobe supervisor Jackie Freeman, costume crewmember Heather Bair, and ED/LD publisher Jackie Tien.

Rose Brand's John Jacobstein, ED editor David Johnson, set designer John Lee Beatty, and Rose Brand's Roger Claman.

Goliath Marketing's David Steinberg, projection designer Elaine McCarthy, and Rachel and Peter Scharff of Scharff Weisberg.

Patrick O'Rourke from Big Apple Lights and John Huntington from New York Technical College.

Richard Pilbrow and Entertainment Technology's Gordon Pearlman.

BLMC student David Sobral receives some words of wisdom from Sonny Sonnenfeld.

Kara O'Grady from Ron Fogel & Associates.

Sound designer Dan Moses Schreier (center) with Meyer Sound's Sandy McDonald and Tim Chapman.

Lighting designers Wayne Chouinard, Peggy Eisenhauer, and Mike Baldassari.

Sennheiser's Rick Belt chats with Chris Evans of Pittsburgh's Benedum Center

ETC's Joe DiNardo, ED publisher Jackie Tien, production electrician Mike LoBue, and ETC's Bill Gallinghouse.

Atlanta sound designer Clay Benning and UK sound designer John Leonard.

4Wall Entertainment's Phil Hirsch, Wybron's Brandon James, ED/LD's Holly O'Hair, and ACT's legendary Bob Gordon.

John Lee Beatty, choreographer Kathleen Marshall, and Wayne Chouinard.

Chris Evans, Digico's Bob Doyle and Group One's Tom Bensen.

Sarah Martin and Jason Livingston from Charles Cosler Theatre Design.