Entertainment Design

presented the 2004 EDDY Awards
on Friday, June 18 at John Jay College Theatre in New York City, along with this year's Broadway Lighting Master Classes and Broadway Sound Master Classes.
And the winners are:

sponsored by Primedia Business
presented by Richard Pilbrow

Costume Designer Susan Hilferty and the Costume Team For Wicked
sponsored by USITT
presented by Marc Platt

The Actors Theatre of Louisville/Humana Festival Design and Technical Department
sponsored by Meyer Sound
presented by John Lee Beatty

Lighting Designer Patrick Woodroffe, Associate Lighting Designer Adam Bassett, and Lighting Director/Programmer Dave Hill
sponsored by Fourth Phase/PRG
presented by Brian Croft

Technical Director Lorrie Snyder
sponsored by MICE Creative, Strand Lighting, L.A. Propoint, Proskenion
presented by Bill Ballou

Scharff Weisberg
sponsored by High End Systems
presented by Bob and Colleen Bonniol and Elaine McCarthy

Sound Products
Personal Monitor: Aviom A-16 Personal Monitor Mixing System
Intercom: HME PRO850 Wireless Intercom
Loudspeaker: Meyer UPJ-1P Compact VariO
Wireless Transmitter: Trantec S6000 System
Digital Console: Yamaha DM1000

Projection and Staging Products
Projection Technology: Barco Events USA, MiPIX Intelligent LED Pixel Block
Digital Light: High End Systems, Catalyst DL1 Digital Light
Rigging: Hoffend & Sons, Vortek Rigging System
Motion Control Software: Stage Technologies, Visual Creator
Video Processing: Vista Systems, Montage

Lighting Products
Software: City Theatrical/John Mckernon Software, Lightwright 4
Intelligent Luminaire: Electronic Theatre Controls, Source Four Revolution
Dimmer: Entertainment Technology Bak Pak
Service: InLight RENT-A-GOBO
DMX Accessory: Wybron Watchdog and DogBone

And here, in no particular order, are some images from the EDDY cocktail party and awards ceremony:

Associate publisher and editorial director David Johnson gets things underway...

... with a little help from his friend, Sonny.
Talk about being upstaged by a puppet!

The "godfather" of sound design, Abe Jacob, with Rick Hutton of InLight Gobos

Vari-Lite’s Bob Schacherl and Marian Sandberg-Dierson, editor of Lighting Dimensions

David O’Gwynn for Systems Wireless
with managing editor Mark Newman

David Steinberg accepting on behalf of Vista Systems

Cory Fitzgerald and Joe Haller accepting for High End Systems

John McKernon, so excited to receive his EDDY from Marian, especially as he missed the ceremony at LDI last year. Oops!

Kevin Taylor flew in for the event, just making it on time, to accept for everyone from Stage Technologies back in London.

REDCAT’s Lorrie Snyder accepts her EDDY from fellow technical director Bill Ballou.

Producer Marc Platt with the ever-so-talented Susan Hilferty

Richard Pilbrow (right) presenting the EDDY to ESTA president Mike Wood with executive director Lori Rubinstein entering stage right...

Back to the future... it was great to see Pat MacKay at the EDDYs this year!

A pair of set designers: Paul Owen, on behalf of the Humana Festival, and presenter John Lee Beatty

A thoughtful Peter Hoffend accepting for Hoffend and Sons

Peter Scharff of Scharff Weisberg dancing for joy with projection designer Elaine McCarthy

Ray Legnini and Dan Garrett accepting for Aviom while Mark hams it up

LD’s Marian with InLight’s Rick Hutton... posing for a glass gobo?

Ron Fogel accepting on behalf of the Wybron family back in Colorado

Sandy MacDonald accepting for Meyer Sound

Comrades in arms Steve Terry of ETC, Lee Magadini of VLPS, and Peter Scharff of Scharff Weisberg

Steve Ricks of ETC and George Masek from Vari-Lite

LD’s Marian presents an EDDY product award to Steve Ricks of ETC

Susan Hilferty models her fabulous "Wicked: coat, signed by every member of the cast and crew

Tim Burnham (left) of Strand Lighting with Mr, and Mrs. Mike Wood

Tom Benson of Group One with Sho Kubo of Trantec

Bob Quinones accepting on behalf of Yamaha

David Johnson with his new baseball bat...
now why did we give him that exactly?

Special thanks to all the 2004 SPONSORS of the EDDY Awards, BLMC and BSMC:
A.C.T • Apollo Design • Audio Technica • Autograph A2D • Barbizon • Cadac • City Theatrical • Color Kinetics • d&b audiotechnik • DiGiCo • Electronic Theatre Controls • Entertainment Technology • Field Template • 4 Wall East • Fourth Phase • Group One • High End Systems • InLight Gobos • Insul-8 • JBL • L.A. Propoint • Lectrosonics • Lee Filters • Level Control Systems • Meyer Sound • MICE Creative • Morpheus • Proskenion • Riedel Communications • Robert Juliat • Rosco • Scharff Weisberg • Selecon • Sigmet Corporation • Strand Lighting • Strong International • Systems Wireless • Theatre Projects Consultants • TMB • Trantec • USITT • Vari-Lite • Wally Russell Board • XTA • Yamaha •