The winners came from town and country in design categories of this year’s Outer Critics Circle Awards, which honor achievement in the New York Theatre. Set designer Anthony Ward and lighting designer David Hersey won for their work on the Royal National Theatre revival of Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Oklahoma!. Ward designed the costumes for that production as well, but lost to former couturier and current TV personality Isaac Mizrahi, for his over-the-top dresses for the Roundabout Theatre Company revival of The Women.

Ward beat out John Lee Beatty, for the Lincoln Center Theatre Company revival of Morning’s At Seven; Allen Moyer, for the Roundabout Theatre production of The Dazzle; and Douglas Stein, for the Joseph Papp Public Theatre production of 36 Views. Hersey’s competition included Donald Holder, for the Broadway musical Thoroughly Modern Millie, James F. Ingalls, for the Broadway revival of The Elephant Man; and David Weiner for 36 Views. Losing to Mizrahi were Santo Loquasto, for The Elephant Man; Martin Pakledinaz, for Thoroughly Modern Millie; and Ward, for Oklahoma!

The Outer Critics Circle does not give an award for sound design.

Among the productions, Oklahoma! was the big winner, with five awards, including outstanding revival of a musical, outstanding choreography (Susan Stroman), and featured actor in a musical (Shuler Hensley) in addition to the two design nods.

There were a few surprises in the list. Edward Albee’s controversial comedy The Goat, or Who is Sylvia?, won in the Broadway play category, with Mercedes Ruehl of that production, taking the award for actress in a play. John Lithgow, star of the struggling Sweet Smell of Success, won for actor in a musical. Both stars of the Broadway production Fortune’s Fool, were cited—Alan Bates for actor in a play, and Frank Langella for featured actor. Falling into the no-surprise category was Elaine Stritch’s win in the solo performance category.

The awards will be handed out May 23rd, at Sardi’s Restaurant.

A complete list of winners follows:

Outstanding Broadway Play: The Goat or Who Is Sylvia?

Outstanding Broadway Musical: Urinetown

Outstanding Off-Broadway Play: The Dazzle

Outstanding Off-Broadway Musical: tick, tick...BOOM!

Outstanding Revival of a Play: Morning's at Seven

Outstanding Revival of a Musical: Oklahoma!

Outstanding Actor in a Play: Alan Bates, Fortune's Fool

Outstanding Actress in a Play: Mercedes Ruehl, The Goat or Who Is Sylvia?

Outstanding Actor in a Musical: John Lithgow, Sweet Smell of Success

Outstanding Actress in a Musical: Sutton Foster, Thoroughly Modern Millie

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play: Frank Langella, Fortune's Fool

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play: Katie Finneran, Noises Off

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical Shuler Hensley, Oklahoma!

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical: Spencer Kayden, Urinetown

Outstanding Solo Performance: Elaine Stritch, Elaine Stritch at Liberty

Outstanding Director of a Play: Mary Zimmerman, Metamorphoses

Outstanding Director of a Musical: John Rando, Urinetown

Outstanding Choreography: Susan Stroman, Oklahoma!

Outstanding Set Design: Anthony Ward, Oklahoma!

Outstanding Costume Design: Isaac Mizrahi, The Women

Outstanding Lighting Design: David Hersey, Oklahoma!

John Gassner Award: Suzan-Lori Parks, Topdog/Underdog

Special Achievement Award: Mos Def and Jeffrey Wright, Topdog/Underdog