In a historic year that marked the first time sound designers were honored with Tony Awards for their outstanding work on Broadway, Scott Lehrer won in the musical category for South Pacific, and Mic Pool won for The 39 Steps. Lehrer and his fellow designers swept the best design categories for a musical, with Donald Holder winning for lighting, Catherine Zuber for costumes, and Michael Yeargan for sets, celebrating the first Broadway revival of this classic Rogers and Hammerstein musical in 60 years.

South Pacific also took top honors for Best Director —Bartlett Sher— and Best Actor in a Musical—the operatic Paulo Szot in his first Broadway appearance. The icing on the South Pacific cake was the Tony for Best Revival of A Musical. As the Jersey Boys would say: Oh What A Night!

Design winners in the play category—in addition to Mic Pool’s win for sound—include Kevin Adams for the lighting of The 39 Steps (making him a back-to-back Tony winner as he won in 2007 for Spring Awakening); Katrina Lindsey won for the sumptuous costumes in the revival of Les Liaisons Dangereuses; and Todd Rosenthal won for the scenic design of August: Osage Country.

For a list of all 2008 Tony winners:

Bravo to them all!