ESTA presented the 2006 Eva Swan Award to Mike Wood for the profound impact he has had on every aspect of the Association through his volunteer service. The award was presented at ESTA’s annual dinner on Thursday, October 19, 2006 in Las Vegas.

Mike’s service to ESTA includes the Technical Standards Committee, Fog & Smoke Working Group, ETCP Council, two terms as president of the board of directors, and currently as the Association’s treasurer. The award was presented by Lori Rubinstein, ESTA’s executive director, who cited examples of Wood’s depth and breadth of knowledge and diversified skills which benefit not only these groups but which he freely shares with other committees and working groups within ESTA.

Rubinstein concluded by echoing the sentiments of both ESTA’s volunteers and staff in saying, “Above the obvious skills—engineer, author, graphic artist, editor, Internet guru, computer whiz, diplomat—to name just a few, what all of us who work closely with him value so much in Mike is his unfailing generosity of spirit. He always makes you feel like he is happy to help, and despite his remarkable intellect he never makes you feel less than his equal, even when explaining a concept or technology that he mastered long ago.”

The Eva Swan Award is presented to a member who has put forth exceptional efforts in time, expertise, and personal resources on behalf of ESTA; been instrumental in shaping and promoting the strategic direction of the Association; made major contributions to the realization of the mission, goals, and objectives; and enhanced the value of membership for all.