The League of Off-Broadway Theatres and Producers announced the nominees for the 21st Annual Lucille Lortel Awards for outsanding achievement Off-Broadway. Abigail’s Party leads with eight nominations, The Trip To Bountiful Follows with seven, while Grey Gardens earns five. In the design categories, Darron L. West has received two nominations for his sound design for the second consecutive year.

Special awards will honor Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee John Patrick Shanley, Wendy Wasserstein for lifetime achievement, Betty Corwin for sustained excellence, and Atlantic Theater Company for their outstanding body of work.

The League of Off-Broadway Theatres and Producers will present the winning awards on Monday, May 1st at New World Stages (formerly Dodger Stages, 340 West 50th Street) at 7 PM in New York City. A celebration will follow the awards presentation at Ruth’s Chris Steak House (148 West 51st Street). A cocktail reception to congratulate all of the nominees will be held on Monday, April 17th at therapy (348 West 52nd Street). A limited number of tickets for the ceremony are on sale now through the New World Stages Box Office and

The Design Nominees Are:

Outstanding Scenic Design

  • Beowulf Boritt, The Other Side
  • David Korins, Swimming in the Shallows
  • Eugene Lee, The Ruby Sunrise
  • Derek McLane, Abigail’s Party
  • Allen Moyer, Grey Gardens

Outstanding Lighting Design

  • Aaron Black, Funnyhouse of a Negro
  • Jane Cox, Apparition
  • John McKernon, The Trip to Bountiful
  • Stephen Strawbridge, Bernarda Alba
  • David Weiner, The Seven

Outstanding Sound Design

  • Scott Killian, A Picasso
  • Brian Ronan, Grey Gardens
  • Ken Travis, Abigail’s Party
  • Darron L. West, Apparition
  • Darron L. West, The Seven

Outstanding Costume Design

  • Eric Becker, Abigail’s Party
  • William Ivey Long, Grey Gardens
  • Deborah Newhall, The Ruby Sunrise
  • Martin Pakledinaz, The Trip to Bountiful
  • Anita Yavich, The Wooden Breeks

The 2006 Lucille Lortel Awards voting committee is appointed by the League of Off-Broadway Theatres & Producers, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, Actors’ Equity Association, and the Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers, and includes journalists, educators, and members of the Off-Broadway community.