The Illuminating Engineering Society of North America

(IESNA) is offering an important, real-time virtual seminar addressing outdoor lighting on November 5, 2003. For a single connection fee, as many people who choose to can participate in a live, interactive seminar for a fraction of the time and cost of attending a traditional seminar program.

Speakers for the event will be Nancy Clanton and Jim Benya, and the Seminar can be seen on November 5, 2003 at 7:00 PM – 8:30 PM Eastern Standard Time (Central Standard 6:00 PM – 7:30 PM; Mountain Standard 5:00 PM – 6:30 PM, and Pacific Standard 4:00 PM – 5:30 PM).

The Seminar will include topics on Nighttime Visibility, or the footcandle myth and how effective white light is. Current thinking in spectral response – pro and con; Current Standards, pro and con, how current standards address outdoor visibility – footcandles, uniformity, glare; Improved Visibility Science – ETAL, and other opportunities to improve the standards (adaptation based standards)¸ the four zone system, and when not to light; Our Future of Dark(er) Skies – environmentally and socially acceptable lighting, or reducing light pollution and light trespass; dark sky ordinances and codes; and photobiological issues.

Participants in the IESNA Virtual Seminar on Outdoor Lighting can expect to learn how our current outdoor lighting standards were derived, the basis for future recommendations, the role of the Lighting Environmental Zones, when it is appropriate to consider recommending the absence of light, and the importance of ordinances and codes.

Registration information, fees, and information about the technical requirements for establishing a host site for the webcast can be found on www.iesna.org. Click on the Outdoor Lighting Virtual Seminar icon.The IESNA Virtual Seminar on Outdoor Lighting is registered with AIA for 1.5 (HSW) AIA learning unit hours.