Nominations were announced this week for the Los Angeles Drama Critics' Circle Awards, to be held April 1 at the Colony Theatre. The Greenway Court Theatre production of They Shoot Horses, Don't They? topped all nominees with eight, including best production. Others in that category include Big River at Deaf West Theater, The Birthday Party at Matrix Theatre, and Orson's Shadow at Black Dahila Theater. Interestingly, Broadway-bound Flower Drum Song received only one nomination, for Gregg Barnes’ costumes.

The complete list of design nominees is as follows:

Best Scenic Design
Patty Briles, Two-Heade at (Inside) the Ford
Ray Klausen, Big River
Michael C. Smith, Trelawny of the Wells

Best Lighting Design
Keith Endo, Everyday Life
Kathi O'Donohue, The Night of the Iguana at the Fountain Theater
Robert L. Smith, A Mislaid Heaven at Road Theater

Best Costume Design
Gregg Barnes, Flower Drum Song at the Mark Taper Forum
Audrey Eisner, Everyday Life Shon LeBlanc, They Shoot Horses, Don't They?

Best Sound Design
DE3 of Polyrhythmic & The Collective, Infinity at the Court Theater
John Epperson, Lypsinka! The Boxed Set at the Tiffany Theatre B.C. Keller, Much Ado About Nothing

Best Makeup/Hair/Wig Design
Douglas Noe, A Servant of Two Masters
Stephn Ratliff, They Shoot Horses, Don't They?
Michael Serrato, Pinafore!

In addition, to the above design nominees, the Bob Z Award for lifetime achievement in set design will be given to Dwight Richard Odle, and the Angstrom Award for lifetime achievement in stage lighting will be given to Kim Killingsworth.