John Meyer, CEO and cofounder of Meyer Sound Laboratories, was honored with the Audio Engineering Society’s (AES) Silver Medal Award at this year’s AES Convention in New York City. The award was given in recognition of Meyer’s “outstanding achievement in source independent measurement of public address systems and the advancement of quality in sound reinforcement.”

Formerly known as the Emile Berliner Award, the AES Silver Medal honors those whose work represents exceptional developments or achievements in the field of audio engineering. Prior recipients include audio pioneers such as John Mullin, Robert Moog, Ray Dolby, and James A. (Andy) Moorer.

“It’s a true honor to receive this award from an organization dedicated to the advancement of standards in audio,” notes Meyer. “Special thanks should also be given to Stanford University’s CCRMA group headed by Dr. John Chowning, as well as to Dr. Elizabeth Cohen, and Dr. Julius Smith, whose contributions to this work were essential.”

The Silver Medal marks the third official AES recognition of Meyer Sound’s two cofounders. John Meyer was chosen a Fellow of the AES in 1985, and company executive vice president and cofounder Helen Meyer received a Citation in 1999 for her unique contributions to the audio industry.

John Meyer’s list of accomplishments in the audio industry extends back to 1967, when he first assembled a custom amplification system for the Steve Miller Band’s appearance at the Monterey Pop Festival. In the years since, Meyer Sound’s list of audio breakthroughs includes—in addition to the AES-cited SIM source independent measurement—self-powered sound reinforcement loudspeakers, wide bandwidth parabolic transducers, directional subwoofers, the REM ribbon emulation manifold, and an Internet-enabled acoustical prediction program. Meyer Sound holds 38 US and international patents, and has garnered numerous industry awards for its products and proprietary technologies.