The American Theatre Wing announced the winners of the annual Henry Hewes Design Awards, which honor designers for their work on Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off Off-Broadway.

Originally titled the Maharam Awards and later known as the American Theatre Wing Design Awards, the awards were renamed in 1999 to honor founder Henry Hewes. Seventy-four designers were nominated for their work in 49 productions during the 2003-2004 season.

The complete list of award winners follows:

Scenic Design
David Korins for Blackbird
Costume Design
Catherine Zuber for Intimate Apparel
Lighting Design
Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer for Assassins

Notable Effects
James Schuette (scenery and costumes), Brian H. Scott (lighting), and Darron L. West (sound) for bobrauschenbergamerica

Winners will be presented with their awards during a luncheon at Sardi's Restaurant on Oct. 15. This year's Awards Committee included theatre critics Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, chair; Tish Dace; Glenda Frank; Mario Fratti; Randy Gener; Mel Gussow; Henry Hewes; and Joan Ungaro.