As you might expect, the design nominations in the Outer Critics Circle Awards are dominated by Broadway's big three musical hits: Hairspray, La Boheme, and Nine. Also earning three nominations is the yet-to-open Broadway production of Enchanted April. The nominations for the awards, given by the organization of critics and writers who cover the New York theatre for out-of-town publications, were announced this morning.

In the set design category, Catherine Martin, David Rockwell, and Scott Pask were cited for La Boheme, Hairspray, and Nine respectively, with Tony Straiges getting the nod for Enchanted April. Also nominated is John Lee Beatty, for his procession of 30s settings in the Lincoln Center Theatre revival of Dinner at Eight.

For costume design, William Ivey Long, Catherine Martin and Angus Strathie, and Vicki Mortimer were nominated, again for Hairspray, La Boheme, and Nine respectively, with Jess Goldstein also picked for Enchanted April. Also nominated is Catherine Zuber for Dinner at Eight.

The lighting category is led by Kenneth Posner (Hairspray), Nigel Levings (La Boheme) and Brian MacDevitt (Nine), with Rui Rita nominnated for Enchanted April. Filling out the category is Paul Gallo for Man of La Mancha.

The Outer Critics Circle doesn not recognize sound design.

The Outer Critics Circle which gives out its awards earlier than most groups, often sees end-of-the-seaon shows in previews, before other members of the press, which explains how Enchanted April was considered. The Broadway revival of Long Day's Journey Into Night was not seen by the organization's nominators and will therefore be considered as part of next season.

Winners will be announced May 5, with awards given out May 29.

The full set of nominees:

Outstanding Broadway Play
Enchanted April
The Play What I Wrote
Take Me Out
Vincent in Brixton

Outstanding Broadway Musical
Movin’ Out
Urban Cowboy

Outstanding Off-Broadway Play
The Exonerated
Kimberly Akimbo
Observe the Sons of Ulster Marching Towards the Somme
Talking Heads

Outstanding Off-Broadway Musical
Avenue Q
Hank Williams: Lost Highway
Radiant Baby
Zanna Don’t
A Man of No Importance

Outstanding Revival of a Play
A Day in the Death of Joe Egg
Dinner at Eight
Our Town

Outstanding Revival of a Musical
La Bohème
Man of La Mancha

Outstanding Direction of a Play
Michael Engler, Talking Headsb
Gerald Gutierrez, Dinner at Eight
Joe Mantello, Take Me Out
Michael Wilson, Enchanted April

Outstanding Direction of a Musical
David Leveaux, Nine
Baz Luhrmann, La Bohème
Randal Myler, Hank Williams: Lost Highway
Jack O’Brien, Hairspray
Sam Mendes, Gypsy

Outstanding Choreography
Jonathan Butterell, Nine
Robert Longbottom, Flower Drum Song
Jerry Mitchell, Hairspray
Twyla Tharp, Movin’ Out

Outstanding Set Design
John Lee Beatty, Dinner at Eight
Catherine Martin, La Bohème
David Rockwell, Hairspray
Tony Straiges, Enchanted April
Scott Pask, Nine

Outstanding Costume Design
Jess Goldstein, Enchanted April
William Ivey Long, Hairspray
Catherine Martin and Angus Strathie, La Bohème
Vicki Mortimer, Nine
Catherine Zuber, Dinner at Eight

Outstanding Lighting Design
Paul Gallo, Man of La Mancha
Nigel Levings, La Bohème
Brian MacDevitt, Nine
Kenneth Posner, Hairspray
Rui Rita, Enchanted April

Outstanding Actor in a Play
Brian Bedford, Tartuffe
Jochum ten Haaf, Vincent in Brixton
Eddie Izzard, A Day in the Death of Joe Egg
Howard W. Overshown, Yellowman
Daniel Sunjata, Take Me Out

Outstanding Actress in a Play
Jayne Atkinson, Enchanted April
Marylouise Burke, Kimberly Akimbo
Christine Ebersole, Dinner at Eight
Victoria Hamilton, A Day in the Death of Joe Egg
Clare Higgins, Vincent in Brixton

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Antonio Banderas, Nine
Harvey Fierstein, Hairspray
Brian Stokes Mitchell,Man of La Mancha
Jason Petty, Hank Williams: Lost Highway
Roger Rees, A Man of No Importance

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Jenn Colella, Urban Cowboy
Melissa Errico, Amour
Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio, Man of La Mancha
Chita Rivera, Nine
Marissa Jaret Winokur, Hairspray

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Walter Bobbie, Polish Joke
Michael Cumpsty, Enchanted April
Daniel Gerroll, Enchanted April
Denis O’Hare, Take Me Out
B.D. Wong, Shanghai Moon

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Linda Emond, Life (x) 3
Kathryn Meisle, Tartuffe
Marian Seldes, Dinner at Eight
Emily Skinner, Dinner at Eight
J. Smith-Cameron, Tartuffe

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Randall Duk Kim, Flower Drum Song
Dick Latessa, Hairspray
Matthew Morrison, Hairspray
Steven Pasquale, A Man of No Importance
Corey Reynolds, Hairspray

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Laura Benanti, Nine
Kerry Butler, Hairspray
Jane Krakowski, Nine
Mary Stuart Masterson, Nine
Mary Beth Peil, Nine

Outstanding Solo Performance
Tovah Feldshuh, Golda’s Balcony
Frank Gorshin, Say Goodnight Gracie
Kate Mulgrew, Tea at Five
Charlayne Woodard, In Real Life

John Gassner Award
Matthew Barber, Enchanted April
Stephen Adly Guirgis, Our Lady of 121st Street
Erik Jensen & Jessica Blank, The Exonerated
Louis Mustillo, Bartenders
Dael Orlandersmith, Yellowman

Special Achievement Award
Outstanding Ensemble Performance: Talking Heads