Nominations are now open for the 2003 Wally Award. First presented in 1992 to the late Wally Russell, the prestigious Wally Russell Lifetime Achievement Award is presented annually in his honor to a leading light in the entertainment design and technology field.

The subsequent "Wally" nominees and winners have followed in Russell's footsteps (not easy shoes to fill by any means) in that they are all extraordinary trailblazers who have set new standards in our industry while exhibiting a strong sense of leadership, a commitment to technological innovation, and a career of outstanding service and contribution to the industry. The Wally Award is presented at the annual LDI Entertainment Technology Show, to be held this year October 21, 22, and 23, 2003.

Past "Wally" winners (1992-2002) include: Jimmy Fuller in 2002; Jim Bornhorst in 2001; Stan Miller in 2000; Don Stern in 1999; Bran Ferren in 1998; Fred Bentham in 1997; Francis DeVerna in 1996; Tharon Musser in 1995; George van Buren in 1994; Charles Altman in 1993; and Wally Russell in 1992.

The Wally Award committee includes: Donna Appleton, Phil Bernard, Rusty Brustché, David Cunningham, Tom Folsom, John Howe, Larry Kellermann, Philip O'Donnell, Richard Pilbrow, Brian Russell, Glen Russell, Robert Schiller, Jacqueline Tien, and John Wiseman.

My nomination for the 2003 "Wally" is:

Please explain why your nominee deserves the "Wally" Award


Please email or fax nominations by May 23, 2003 to:
or fax to 212-204-1823

For additional information, contact:

Jacqueline Tien, publisher, Lighting Dimensions/Entertainment Design, 249 West 17 Street, New York, NY, 10011. email: