The American Society of Cinematographers announced its five feature film nominees for 2001 yesterday. The noted achievements range from the noir-tinged black-and-white work of Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC on The Man Who Wasn't There to the lush, digitally processed color of Bruno Delbonnel's images in Amelie. Rounding out the nominations list are Andrew Lesnie, ACS for The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring; Don McAlpine, ASC, ACS for Moulin Rouge; and the sole American in the category, John Schwartzman, ASC for Pearl Harbor.

Moulin Rouge DP Don McAlpine is one of five nominees

Among the more conspicuous omissions are Black Hawk Down DP Slawomir Idziak, Ali's Emmanuel Lubezki, and Janusz Kaminski, for A.I. Artificial Intelligence. Traditionally, three or four of the ASC's nominees go on to be nominated for the Best Cinematography Oscar.

The organization also named nominees in three television categories last week. For episodic TV, the contenders are Michael Barrett, for CSI: Crime Scene Investigation; Michael Bonvillain, for Alias; Thomas A. Del Ruth, ASC, for The West Wing; Billy Dickson, for Ally McBeal; and Bill Roe, ASC, for The X-Files. Cable movie, miniseries, or pilot nominees are Malcolm Cross, for What Girls Learn; Steven Fierberg, for Attila; Lowell Peterson, ASC, for Just Ask My Children, Brian J. Reynolds, for Boss of Bosses, and Bruce Worrall, for Prancer Returns. Their network counterparts are Ernest Holzman, ASC, for the Citizen Baines pilot; Denis Lenoir, ASC, AFC, for Uprising; Peter Levy, ASC, ACS, for the 24 pilot; Rene Ohashi, CSC, for Don Giovanni Unmasked; and Peter Wunstorf, for the Smallville pilot.

The 16th annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards dinner will be held February 17 at the Century Plaza Hotel. Lifetime achievement designees Laszlo Kovacs, ASC, and Douglas Slocombe, BSC, will also be honored at the ceremony. Visit the organization's website,, for more details.

Photo: Sue Adler/Twentieth Century Fox