The Art Directors Guild has named ten production designers and their films in competition for its sixth annual awards. Unlike the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the guild splits nominees into two award categories: one for period or fantasy film, and one for contemporary films. The latter are often overshadowed come Oscar time by their more attention-getting rivals.

Nominees for the Art Directors Guild Award for excellence in production design, period or fantasy films, are: Rick Carter, for A.I. Artificial Intelligence; Stuart Craig, for Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone; Grant Major, for The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring; Catherine Martin, for Moulin Rouge; and Dennis Gassner, for The Man Who Wasn't There.

The Lord of the Rings

For excellence in production design, contemporary films, the nominees are: Aline Bonetto, for Amelie; Arthur Max, for Black Hawk Down; Philip Messina, for Ocean's Eleven; David Wasco, for The Royal Tenenbaums; and David Gropman, for The Shipping News.

The Royal Tenenbaums

The Art Directors Guild also gives awards in four television categories. For an episode of a single-camera series, the contenders are: Carlos Barbosa, for 24; Scott Chambliss, for Alias; Jerry Wanek, for Dark Angel; Marcia Hinds, for Six Feet Under; and Kenneth Hardy, for The West Wing. Multi-camera series nominees are: Tom Buderwitz, for BattleBots; Dahl Delu, for The Fighting Fitzgeralds; Thomas Azzari, for That's My Bush!; Stephan Olson, for Titus; and Glenda Rovello, for Will & Grace.

The TV movie or miniseries category includes Bernard Hides, for Blonde; Curtis A. Schnell, for Jackie, Ethel, Joan: The Women of Camelot; Peter Larkin, for Dinner With Friends; William Creber, for The Last Brickmaker in America; and Eugene Lee, for On Golden Pond. Finally, for excellence in production design in a TV variety or awards show, music special or documentary, the nominees are Bob Keene, for The 43rd Annual Grammy Awards; Roy Christopher, for The 73rd Annual Academy Awards; Bruce Ryan, for Come Together: A Night for John Lennon's Words and Music; Jeff Hall, for Mad TV Live and Almost Legal; and Bruce Rodgers, for Madonna Live: Drowned World Tour 2001.

Winners will be announced February 23 at the Beverly Hilton. Legendary designer Ken Adam will also be presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the ceremony.

Royal Tenenbaums photo: James Hamilton/Touchstone Pictures

Lord of the Rings photo: New Line Cinema