Lighting industry pioneers Imero Fiorentino, Richard Pilbrow, and Sonny Sonnenfeld are the three distinguished nominees for the 2003 Wally Russell Lifetime Achievement Award. Industry professionals are invited to vote to select the winner.

Founded in 1992, the prestigious “Wally” Award was established in memory of Wally Russell, whose career influenced future generations in the lighting industry. Each year, the “Wally” honors one individual who follows in his footsteps, exhibiting a strong sense of leadership, a commitment to technological innovation, and a long career of service to the lighting industry.

Lighting designer Imero Fiorentino launched his career in 1950, working on such programs as Omnibus, US Steel Hour, Pulitzer Prize Playhouse and the Bolshoi Ballet's first televised appearance in the United States. He formed his own company in 1960, and has supervised the lighting for hundreds of TV specials and stage productions, including 14 national political conventions. Richard Pilbrow is an internationally known lighting designer, consultant, and author. His Broadway credits include Show Boat, Our Town, and The Life. His firm, Theatre Projects Consultants, received an EDDY Award in 2003 and the Queen's Award for Enterprise in 2002. He has published two seminal books on lighting, received two awards from USITT and was twice elected to the USITT Board. Sonny Sonnenfeld has been an active member of USITT since its inception as well as the IES, and has been involved in theatre and architectural lighting for over 55 years. In 1999, he was honored with the LDI Life in Light Award for his contributions to the lighting industry and is currently a consultant for Electronic Theatre Controls.

Industry professionals are invited to vote for this year's “Wally” winner by filling out a printed ballot and faxing it to 913-514-3600; by an email vote sent to; or online at Ballots can also be mailed to: Jackie Tien, Lighting Dimensions, 249 W. 17th Street, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10011.