Richard Belliveau is co-founder and currently chief technology officer of High End Systems. He has invented and produced such innovative technology as low-powered laser entertainment products using microprocessor and stepper motor technology (Laser Chorus), a laser emulation system using xenon lamp (Emulator), the Intellabeam automated light, and the first digitally addressable RGB color-mixing profile spotlight (Color Pro) using dichroic color medium. He designed and engineered the first optical thin film manufacturing laboratory specifically for production of high volume dichroic filters for the lighting industry. He launched the Cyberlight automated luminaire using lithographic glass gobos manufactured by an in-house lithography laboratory, and produced the world's first highly successful automated Fresnel color-changing spotlight using dichroic filters and metal halide technology. He most recently created and produced a line of digital automated lights (DL.1, DL.2) with built in cameras, infrared illuminators, and infrared cameras. He is listed as an inventor on 34 US patents.

The prestigious “Wally” Award was established in 1992 in memory of Wally Russell, a true trailblazer whose career influenced several generations of lighting industry professionals that have followed in his footsteps. Each year, the “Wally” honors one individual who exhibits a strong sense of leadership, a commitment to technological innovation, and a career of service to the lighting industry.

The Wally Winners:

2004: George C. Izenour
2003: Sonny Sonnenfeld
2002: Jimmy Fuller
2001 Jim Bornhorst
2000 Stan Miller
1999 Don Stern
1998 Bran Ferren
1997 Fred Bentham
1996 Francis P. Deverna
1995 Tharon Musser
1994 George van Buren
1993 Charles Altman
1992 Wally Russell

Newcomer Awared

1992 Robert Bell

The 2005 “Wally” will be presented as part of the LDI2005 Awards ceremony in Orlando on Saturday evening, November 12, 2005, as part of the 18th anniversary of North America's largest entertainment technology trade show.

The Wally Award Committee: Donna Appleton, Phil Bernard, Rusty Brustché, David Cunningham, Tom Folsom, John Howe, Larry Kellermann, Philip O'Donnell, Richard Pilbrow, Brian Russell, Glen Russell, Robert Schiller, Jennifer White, and John Wiseman.

The Wally Russell Foundation is completely funded by tax-deductible donations.

Please see ad on page 55 for information on how you can join the industry professionals who support the Wally Foundation.