Nominations for the 79th Annual Academy Awards were announced today (Tuesday, January 23) by Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences President Sid Ganis and past Oscar® nominee Salma Hayek.

Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2006 will be presented on Sunday, February 25, 2007, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center ®, and televised live by the ABC Television Network.

Nominees in design disciplines are as follows:

Achievement in Art Direction
Art Direction: John Myhre
Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh

The Good Shepherd
Art Direction: Jeannine Oppewall
Set Decoration: Gretchen Rau and Leslie E. Rollins

Pan’s Labyrinth
Art Direction: Eugenio Caballero
Set Decoration: Pilar Revuelta

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest
Art Direction: Rick Heinrichs
Set Decoration: Cheryl A. Carasik

The Prestige
Art Direction: Nathan Crowley
Set Decoration: Julie Ochipinti

Achievement in Cinematography
The Black Dahlia, Vilmos Zsigmond
Children of Men, Emmanuel Lubezki
The Illusionist, Dick Pope
Pan’s Labyrinth,Guillermo Navarro
The Prestige, Wally Pfister

Achievement in Costume Design
Curse of the Golden, FlowerYee Chung Man
The Devil Wears Prada,Patricia Field
Dreamgirls, Sharen Davis
Marie Antoinette,Milena Canonero
The Queen,Consolata Boyle

Achievement in Makeup
Apocalypto, Aldo Signoretti and Vittorio Sodano
Click, Kazuhiro Tsuji and Bill Corso
Pan’s Labyrinth,David Marti and Montse Ribe

Achievement in Sound Editing
Apocalypto: Sean McCormack and Kami Asgar
Blood Diamond: Lon Bender
Flags of Our Fathers: Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman
Letters from Iwo Jima: Alan Robert Murray
Pirates of the Caribbean:Dead Man’s Chest: Christopher Boyes and George Watters II

Achievement in Sound Mixing
Apocalypto Kevin O’Connell, Greg P. Russell and Fernando Camara
Blood Diamond: Andy Nelson, Anna Behlmer and Ivan Sharrock
Dreamgirls: Michael Minkler, Bob Beemer and Willie Burton
Flags of Our Fathers: John Reitz, Dave Campbell, Gregg Rudloff and Walt Martin
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest: Paul Massey, Christopher Boyes and Lee Orloff

Achievement in Visual Effects
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest: John Knoll, Hal Hickel, Charles Gibson and Allen Hall
Poseidon: Boyd Shermis, Kim Libreri, Chaz Jarrett and John Frazier
Superman Returns: Mark Stetson, Neil Corbould, Richard R. Hoover and Jon Thum