James (Jimmy) C. Fuller,

a true pioneer in the lighting industry, will be honored with the 2002 Wally Russell Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding contributions to the field. The 2002 Wally Award will be presented as part of the LDI 2002 Award ceremony at the Las Vegas Convention Center on Saturday evening, October 19, 2002, as LDI celebrates its 15th anniversary as North America’s largest Entertainment Technology Show.

Founded in 1992, the prestigious Wally Award was established in memory of Wally Russell, a legendary trailblazer whose career influenced several generations of industry professionals. Each year, the Wally honors one individual who exhibits a strong sense of leadership, a commitment to technological innovation, and a career of service to the lighting industry. The winner is selected through a voting process open to the lighting industry at large.

James (Jimmy) C. Fuller embodies those things that the Wally committee held dear in Wally: he is a man of impeccable character, an entrepreneur, and a gentleman who has given back to the industry much more than he has taken out. Fuller was president of the IATSE Toronto chapter for almost 40 years; for almost 30 years chief electrician of the O'Keefe Center in Toronto. During this period he also found time to run Canadian Staging Projects, the premier stage lighting and sound rental company of Canada. Fuller had a close business relationship with Wally Russell, but more importantly, they were close friends for many years. This is a man whose handshake was the equivalent of a 10-page contract.

"Lighting Dimensions and LDI are pleased to join the Wally committee in recognizing Jimmy Fuller as one of the pioneers and luminaries of our industry, especially in this special anniversary year, as LDI turns 15, Lighting Dimensions hits 25, and Entertainment Design marks 35 years," says Jacqueline Tien, publisher of Lighting Dimensions and Entertainment Design. Previous Wally Award winners are:

2001 Jim Bornhorst
2000 Stan Miller
1999 Don Stern
1998 Bran Ferren
1997 Fred Bentham
1996 Francis P. Deverna
1995 Tharon Musser
1994 George van Buren
1993 Charles Altman
1992 Wally Russell

The other nominees for the 2002 Wally were lighting designer Imero Fiorentino, whose 50-year career includes hundreds of TV specials, stage productions, commercials, concerts, and industrial shows, and John McGraw, co-founder of Production Arts Lighting and second president of the Theatrical Dealers Association (the precursor to ESTA). "There was a very strong slate of candidates for the Wally Award this year," adds Tien. "All three nominees represent the ideals of the award perfectly."

The Wally Award committee includes: Phil Bernard, Rusty Brustché, David Cunningham, Tom Folsom, John Howe, Larry Kellermann, Philip O'Donnell, Richard Pilbrow, Brian Russell, Glen Russell, Robert Schiller,and Jacqueline Tien.

For additional information about the 2002 Wally Award, contact Deanna Andrews, Entertainment Design/Lighting Dimensions, 32 West 18 Street, New York, New York, 10011. Telephone: (212) 229-2965 x816; fax (212) 229-2084; email: dandrews@primediabusiness.com