The League of Off-Broadway Theatres and Producers presented the 21st Annual Lucille Lortel Awards for outstanding achievement Off-Broadway on Monday, May 1st at New World Stages at 7 pm. A celebration followed at Ruth’s Chris Steak House in New York City.

The Seven was awarded Outstanding Musical; The Lieutenant of Inishmore was named Outstanding Play and The Trip to Bountiful, Outstanding Revival.

The evening was hosted by Judy Gold & Brian F. O'Byrne. Among the Presenters Were the cast of Altar Boyz, Dominic Chianese of The Sopranos, Carol Kane, Stephen Lang, Craig Lucas, Wendie Malick of Just Shoot Me fame, Bebe Neuwirth, Paul Rudd (Three Days of Rain), and David Zayas (OZ). Joan Allen and Peter Friedman also performed a tribute to Wendy Wasserstein.

2006 Lucille Lortel Design Award Recipients:

Outstanding Director :
Harris Yulin, The Trip to Bountiful

Outstanding Choreographer :
Bill T. Jones, The Seven

Outstanding Scenic Design:
Eugene Lee, The Ruby Sunrise

Outstanding Costume Design:
Eric Becker, Abigail’s Party

Outstanding Lighting Design:
Aaron Black, Funnyhouse of a Negro

Outstanding Sound Design:
Darron L. West, The Seven

For a complete list of awards, click here.

The 2006 Lucille Lortel Awards nominating/voting committee was appointed by the League of Off-Broadway Theatres & Producers, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, Actors’ Equity Association, Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers, and also includes journalists, educators, and other artistic contributors to Off-Broadway. Awarded since 1986, the Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the League by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation. Additional support was provided by Theatre Development Fund.