The International Association of Lighting Designers (IALD) has announced the appointment of five new members to its Board of Directors and two new members to its Membership Committee. The new board consists of:

President: Andre Tammes, IALD
Director of Finance: Nancy E. Clanton, IALD
Director of Marketing & Communications: Alfred R. Borden, IV, IALD
Director at Large: David Mintz, FIALD

The new membership committee members are: Michael Souter, IALD, and Laura Antonow, IALD

"We are delighted to welcome these new officers and committee members to their new positions," said IALD Executive Vice President, Morag Fullilove. "Each brings a wealth of experience and enthusiasm to our association at a key point - when we are truly growing the profession both in statue and in global representation."

The election results were announced at the 32nd annual IALD Annual Meeting held in Philadelphia on November 28 and 29, 2001. Over 130 IALD and LIRC members gathered for seminars, focus groups, and catch up with manufacturers during exhibitor booth sessions. Two new IALD Fellows, Derek Phillips and Motoko Ishii,were inducted, and legendary lighting desinger, Howard Brandston was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award at a gala dinner. A complete wrap-up of the Annual Meeting will be included in the December issue of the IALD's Reflections.

The IALD Sustainability Committee was officially launched during the Annual Meeting. The committee outlined goals for the near and long terms, including outreach programs with variouscouncils currently developing sustainable standards and education programs for the distribution of sustainable design concepts. Interested IALD members is looking for members should contact Samatha Hollomon at "" to volunteer or for more information

The 33rd IALD Annual Meeting will be held on November 15-16, 2002 in Chicago, IL, headquarters city for the IALD.