Although the Primetime Emmy Awards telecast has been postponed until October 7 because of last week's attacks on New York and Washington, awards in "creative arts" categories were given out as scheduled September 8. Among the winners at a ceremony held at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium was lighting designer Jeff Ravitz, who was named for his work on the HBO special Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band. Ravitz, a principal of Visual Terrain, Inc., shared the award for Outstanding Lighting Direction (Electronic, Multi-Camera) for a Variety, Music or Comedy Special with lighting director Gregg Maltby. The show was a high-definition record of Springsteen's 2000 concerts at Madison Square Garden in New York.

Emmys were also given in four cinematography categories. Legendary DP Vittorio Storaro's work on the Sci Fi Channel's version of Frank Herbert's Dune was the victor in the Outstanding Cinematography for a Miniseries or a Movie field. In the category of Outstanding Cinematography for a Single-Camera Series, Thomas A. Del Ruth won his second consecutive Emmy for The West Wing. For Will & Grace, Tony Askins, A.S.C. received the award for Outstanding Cinematography for a Multi-Camera Series. And sharing the Emmy for Outstanding Cinematography for Non-Fiction Programming were Land of the Mammoth DPs John Davey, Noel Smart, Didier Portal, and Bogdan Verzhbitsky.