This year's Helen Hayes Awards, given to honor achievement in the Washington, DC-area professional theatre have been announced. Design nominees are:

Outstanding Lighting Design, Resident Play Or Musical
Amy Appleyard, The Duchess of Malfi, The Shakespeare Theatre
Howell Binkley, Sunday in the Park With George, The Kennedy Center
Howell Binkley, Sweeney Todd, The Kennedy Center
Jonathan Blandin, The Weir, Round House Theatre
Chris Lee, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Signature Theatre
Daniel MacLean Wagner, The Gospel According to Fishman, Signature Theatre

Outstanding Sound Design, Resident Production
Mark Anduss, Tiny Alice, Washington Shakespeare Company
Scott Burgess, Knoyugogh, Little Globe Theater
Scott Burgess, Othello, Folger Theatre
David McKeever, The After-Dinner Joke and Scotland Road, Potomac Theatre Project and Olney Theatre Center for the Arts
Paata Tsikurishvili, Host and Guest, Synetic Theater
Adam Wernick, The Diaries, Signature Theatre

Outstanding Costume Design, Resident Production
Alessandra D'Ovidio and Mariana Fernandez, La Verdad Sospechosa, Gala Hispanic Theatre
Deborah M. Dryden, The Misanthrope, Arena Stage
Robert Perdziola, The Duchess of Malfi, The Shakespeare Theatre
Jelena Vukmirovic and Marie Schneggenberger, Mississippi Pinocchio, Theater of the First Amendment
Catherine Zuber, Much Ado about Nothing, The Shakespeare Theatre
Catherine Zuber, The Winter's Tale, The Shakespeare Theatre

Outstanding Set Design, Resident Play Or Musical
Loy Arcenas, True West, Arena Stage
Debra Booth, Hambone, The Studio Theatre
James Kronzer, Shakespeare, Moses, and Joe Papp, Round House Theatre
Hugh Landwehr, The Little Foxes, The Shakespeare Theatre
Jos. B. Musumeci, Jr., The Weir, Round House Theatre
Walt Spangler, The Duchess of Malfi, The Shakespeare Theatre

To see a complete list of nominees, click <"">here