The Academy of Television Arts and Sciences recognized the lighting design team from the 2004 Olympic Opening Ceremonies with its top Emmy Award for Outstanding Lighting Direction, at the 57th Annual Emmy Awards. The team–lighting designers Robert Dickinson and Eleftheria Deko, and lighting directors Ted Wells, Andy O'Reilly, and Theodore Tsevas–won for outstanding lighting direction (electronic, multi-camera) for VMC programming.

PRG was the main lighting contractor and provided equipment, programmers, and technicians for the Athens 2004 Olympic Opening and Closing Ceremonies, televised on NBC. The lighting system included over 2,000 automated luminaires controlled by Virtuoso® consoles and a Virtuoso fiber optic control network.

The Emmy Awards recognizes outstanding programming and individual achievements in primetime television.