While much of the attention goes to the actors and directors when the Academy Award nominees are announced, there are a fair share of designers being recognized for their work behind the scenes on some of 2004's biggest--and not so big--films.

The nominees for the design categories are:

Achievement in art direction:
The Aviator, Art Direction: Dante Ferretti, Set Decoration: Francesca Lo Schiavo
Finding Neverland, Art Direction: Gemma Jackson, Set Decoration: Trisha Edwards
Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, Art Direction: Rick Heinrichs, Set Decoration: Cheryl A. Carasik
The Phantom of the Opera, Art Direction: Anthony Pratt, Set Decoration: Celia Bobak
A Very Long Engagement, Art Direction: Aline Bonetto

Achievement in cinematography
The Aviator, Robert Richardson
House of Flying Daggers, Zhao Xiaoding
The Passion of the Christ, Caleb Deschanel
The Phantom of the Opera, John Mathieson
A Very Long Engagement, Bruno Delbonnel

Achievement in costume design
The Aviator, Sandy Powell
Finding Neverland, Alexandra Byrne
Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, Colleen Atwood
Ray, Sharen Davis
Troy, Bob Ringwood

Achievement in makeup
Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, Valli O’Reilly and Bill Corso
The Passion of the Christ, Keith Vanderlaan and Christien Tinsley
The Sea Inside, Jo Allen and Manuel García

Achievement in sound editing
The Incredibles, Michael Silvers and Randy Thom
The Polar Express, Randy Thom and Dennis Leonard
Spider-Man 2, Paul N.J. Ottosson

Achievement in sound mixing
The Aviator, Tom Fleischman and Petur Hliddal
The Incredibles, Randy Thom, Gary A. Rizzo, and Doc Kane
The Polar Express, Randy Thom, Tom Johnson, Dennis Sands, and William B. Kaplan
Ray, Scott Millan, Greg Orloff, Bob Beemer, and Steve Cantamessa
Spider-Man 2, Kevin O’Connell, Greg P. Russell, Jeffrey J. Haboush, and Joseph Geisinger

Achievement in visual effects
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Roger Guyett, Tim Burke, John Richardson, and Bill George
I, Robot, John Nelson, Andrew R. Jones, Erik Nash, and Joe Letteri
Spider-Man 2, John Dykstra, Scott Stokdyk, Anthony LaMolinara, and John Frazier

For a complete list of nominees, click here.