The Art Directors Guild (ADG) announced nominations in six categories of production design for motion pictures and television competing in the ADG's eighth annual Excellence in Production Design Awards for the year 2003.

Deadline for final voting by the 1,000-members of ADG is February 11. Black-tie ceremonies announcing winners will take place Saturday, February 14, from the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Production designer Roy Christopher, winner of nine Emmy Awards, will be presented the Guild's Lifetime Achievement honor. ADG's Contribution to Cinematic Imagery Award will go this year to two-time Academy Award winner John Lasseter, vice president, creative at Pixar Animation Studios.

Here are the nominees:


Period or Fantasy Film
Girl with a Pearl Earring, Ben Van Os
The Last Samurai, Lilly Kilvert
Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King,Grant Major
Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl, Brian Morris
Seabiscuit, Jeannine Oppewal

Contemporary Film
Kill Bill Vol. I, David Wasco and Yohei Taneda
Lost in Translation, K.K. Barrett and Anne Ross
Mystic River, Henry Bumstead
Something's Gotta Give,, Jon Hutman
Under the Tuscan Sun, Stephen McCabe


Single Camera Television Series
24, Joseph Hodges
Alias, Scott Chambliss
Carnivale, Bernt Capra
CSI Crime Scene Investigation, Jon Hutman
Las Vegas, Peter Politanof

Multi-Camera Television Series
Arrested Development ("In God We Trust"), Dawn Snyder
Coupling, Thomas E. Azzari
King of Queens, Scott Heineman
Life with Bonnie, Robert Strohmaier
Will & Grace, Glenda Rovello

Television Movie or Mini-Series
Angels in America, Stuart Wurtzel
Helen of Troy, James F. Allen and Miljen Kljakovic
Hitler: The Rise of Evil, Marek Dobrowolski
Napoleon, Richard Cunin
The Reagans, Barbara Dunphy

Variety or Awards Show, Music Special, or Documentary
37th Annual Country Music Awards, Rene Lagler
45th Annual Grammy Awards, Bob Keene
75th Annual Academy Awards, Roy Christopher
Dinosaur Planet, Mark L. Walters
Moments in Time ("Valley Forge: The Crucible"), John R. Mott

Four years ago Excellence in Production Design for a Feature Film was split into Excellence in a Contemporary Feature and Excellence in a Period/Fantasy Feature. Excellence in Production Design for a Television Series was also split recently into Excellence in Single Camera Series and Excellence in a Multi-Camera series.

The Art Directors Guild merged earlier this year with the Scenic, Title & Graphic Artists to form IATSE Local 800, the Art Directors Guild and Scenic, Title & Graphic Artists.