This month, the focus is on Broadway with the 10th Broadway Lighting Master Classes (BLMC) and second annual Broadway Sound Master Classes (BSMC), a two-part series of professional-level training by the masters of Broadway design, sponsored by Entertainment Design magazine. The event will be held at John Jay College located at 899 Tenth Avenue in New York City, June 16-20, 2004.

The creative consultants for the classes are Tony Award-winning lighting designer Jules Fisher, and legendary sound designer Abe Jacob, with an incredible faculty of Broadway's leading lighting and sound designers. Attendees at the BLMC and BSMC will attend the new Broadway musical Caroline, or Change, followed by a post-show discussion and in-depth design analysis.

The 2004 BLMC faculty, once again led by Tony Award-winning LD Jules Fisher, includes Peggy Eisenhauer (Cabaret), Vivian Leone (Assassins), Wendall Harrington (The Who’s Tommy), Beverly Emmons (The Heiress), Clifton Taylor (Frozen), Donald Holder (The Lion King), and Brian MacDevitt (Fiddler on the Roof), in his first BLMC appearance. Another new aspect of the BLMC this year is a panel on the integration of lighting and projection, moderated by projection, scenic and lighting designer Peter Wexler (The Talking Cure). Panelists include award-winning projection designer Wendall K. Harrington, automated lighting programmer Laura Frank (David Bowie’s A Reality tour), and projection/scenic designer Peter Nigrini (Say Goodnight, Gracie).

The second annual BSMC, three days dedicated to Broadway sound design and technology, will be held June 18-20. Sound designers confirmed for this year's event include Abe Jacob (the original A Chorus Line), Jonathan Deans (Taboo), Tony Meola (Wicked), Dan Moses Schreier (Assassins), Rob Milburn and Michael Bodeen (A Year With Frog and Toad), Jon Weston (Nine), and John Kilgore (Tartuffe). There will also be a special board operators panel featuring Bob Biasetti, Kai Harada, Jim van Bergen, and Jordan Pankin.

Part of the weekend’s activities include the annual EDDY Awards on Friday, June 18, also in the John Jay College Theatre. These awards honor excellence in entertainment design and technology, with awards going to individuals, and creative teams. With the theme of “Raising the Bar Backstage,” this year’s EDDY winners are:

ESTA: For its efforts in standards, certification, and other programs designed to create a safer and more productive industry

Scharff Weisberg: For creative support and solutions in audio, video, and lighting;

The Actors Theatre of Louisville/Humana Festival Design and Technical Department: For sustained excellence in theatrical stagecraft;

Lorrie Snyder, Technical Director, REDCAT: For sustained excellence in technical direction;

Costume Designer Susan Hilferty and The Entire Costume Team From Wicked: For excellence in a theatrical production;

Lighting Designer Patrick Woodroffe, Associate Lighting Designer Adam Bassett, and Lighting Director/Programmer Dave Hill: The consummate lighting design team.

The sponsors for this year’s BLMC, BSMC, and EDDY Awards include: ACT, Apollo Design, Audio-Technica, Autograph A2D, Barbizon, Cadac, City Theatrical, Color Kinetics, d&b audiotechnik, DiGiCo, Electronic Theatre Controls, Entertainment Technology, Field Template, Fisher Dachs Associates, Fisher Marantz Stone, 4 Wall East, Fourth Phase/PRG, Group One, High End Systems, InLight Gobos, Insul-8, Abe Jacob, JBL, LA Propoint, Lectrosonics, Lee Filters, Level Control Systems, Martin Professional, Meyer Sound, MICE Creative, Morpheus, Proskenion, Primedia Business, Reidel Communications, Robert Juliat, Rosco, Scharff Weisberg, Selecon, Sigmet Corporation, Strand Lighting, Strong International, Systems Wireless, Theatre Projects Consultants, TMB, Trantec, USITT, Vari-Lite, Wally Russell Board, XTA, and Yamaha.

Complete schedules, registration and travel information for the BLMC, BSMC, and the EDDY Awards can be found at