Applications are now being accepted for the 13th Annual United States Institute for Theatre Technology (USITT Architecture Awards program. The program, which honors innovation in both new construction and adaptive reuse of buildings for performance spaces, continues to draw interest from around the world. USITT Architecture Award winners will also be considered for inclusion in the United States exhibit for the Prague Quadrennial in 2007.

The deadline for submissions is November 4, 2005.

While architects and consultants are most often responsible for submitting entries for the competition, building owners such as universities or non-profit organizations can either encourage their architects to submit projects or submit them directly to the awards program.

USITT's Architecture Commissioner Michael Tingley and Vice-Commissioner for Awards William Murray have named Timothy P. Hartung, FAIA, to lead the adjudication process for the 2006 awards. Mr. Hartung, Management Partner with the international architecture firm of Polshek Partnership in New York City, is a former USITT Director at Large and former Architecture Commissioner for the organization. He has managed projects ranging from the Santa Fe Opera to the adaptation of the Ed Sullivan Theatre for use by David Letterman.

Chris Moses, production manager for the Signature Theatre Company, will also serve as a juror for the 2006 awards. The Signature Theatre Company annually explores the body of work of one living playwright. His 12 years of experience in production management also includes work for the Manhattan Theatre Club and the International Festival of Arts and Ideas.

The third member of the jury will be Sarah Amelar, a senior editor at Architectural Record. Ms. Amelar earned her Master of Architecture degree from Yale University and practiced architecture with Cesar Pelli & Associates and Michael Sorkin Studio. She has published widely including articles in Metropolis, Architecture, The New York Times, and Architectural Record.

USITT, the association of design, production, and technology professionals in the performing arts and entertainment industry, created its Architecture Awards program as part of its mission to recognize excellence and significant contributions to the industry. In 2005, one Honor and seven Merit awards were presented.

The USITT Architecture Commission also provides significant programming at the Annual Conference & Stage Expo, where the 2006 Architecture Awards will be presented. The 2006 Annual Conference & Stage Expo will be held March 29 to April 1 in Louisville, Kentucky, where all entries submitted for consideration for Architecture Awards will be discussed as part of a special conference session.

The Architecture Awards are open to any new construction or renovation completed since January 1, 1996. Projects will be evaluated on creativity, contextual resonance, functional operation, exploration of new technologies, and community contribution. Submission information, requirements, and entry forms are available at or by contacting the USITT office at 800-938-7488. Information about the 46th Annual Conference & Stage Expo is also available at