Eight theater artists were honored by the Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee during the presentation of its 45th Annual Awards at a Sardi's luncheon on Friday, December 11. Sixty theater artists were nominated for outstanding artistry in 46 productions presented during the 2008-2009 New York theater season.

The HHDA Committee named top honorees in four categories: Scenic Design, Costume Design, Lighting Design and Notable Effects. As of the 2009 awards, the Committee has bestowed 263 honors on 161 artists representing 183 productions.

2009 Awards:

Scenic Design: David Korins for Why Torture Is Wrong, and the People Who Love Them (The Public Theater)

Scenic Design: Derek McLane for 33 Variations (Broadway)

Scenic Design: Louisa Thompson for Blasted (Soho Rep)

Costume Design: Clint Ramos for Women Beware Women (Red Bull Theater)

Lighting Design: Kevin Adams for Hair (Broadway)

Lighting Design: Tyler Micoleau for Blasted (Soho Rep)

Notable Effects (Projection Design): Jeff Sugg for 33 Variations (Broadway)

Notable Effects (Sound Design): Matt Tierney for Blasted (Soho Rep)

The Awards will be presented by Mark Wendland, Donald Holder and David Gallo, all of whom are honorees from recent seasons.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards celebrate work in venues on Broadway, Off Broadway and Off Off Broadway. All nominated designs must have originated in United States productions. The Hewes Design Awards Committee considered more than 200 productions when making its nominations. Those feted receive honoraria and citations at the luncheon. Originally known as the Maharam Awards at their inception in 1965, the Hewes Awards were later called the American Theatre Wing Design Awards in honor of the Wing‚s support of the committee. They were renamed in 1999 for noted theater critic and advocate Henry Hewes, who created the awards and served as a board member of the American Theatre Wing until his death in 2006 at age 89.

The Broadway production of Shrek received five nominations. The Broadway revival of Guys and Dolls and Broadway premiere of 33 Variations received four nominations each; Soho Rep's production of Blasted received three nominations. Ten other productions received two nominations each. Shrek designer Tim Hatley received nominations for scenic design, costumes and notable effects (puppetry). A total of 10 artists received more than one nomination.