The Illuminating Engineering Society New York (IESNY) is accepting online submissions for the 39th Annual Lumen Awards now through January 12, 2007.

The Lumen Awards, sponsored by the IESNY, are part of the International Illumination Design Awards (IIDA) program of the Illuminating Engineering Society of North America (IESNA). Lighting projects that receive Lumen Awards or Citations of Merit from the New York Section become eligible for Regional and International IIDA Awards. Lumen Award winners will be honored at the 2006 Lumen Gala on June 13, 2007 in New York City.

The Lumen Awards were created to encourage and publicly recognize excellence, professionalism, ingenuity, and originality in lighting design. The program is not a competition as each project submitted is evaluated on its own merit. Projects are awarded in the following categories:

· Lumen Award of Excellence: the highest level of recognition for a permanent architectural application

· Lumen Citation: a special recognition for an art installation, technical detail, portion of a single project, temporary installation or other work

· Lumen Award of Merit: in recognition of a permanent architectural application

· Feltman Award: for excellence in retail merchandise lighting

IESNA members as well as non-members are eligible to nominate or enter a project for consideration.

Carrie Knowlton Hawley, HLB Lighting/ serves as co-chair for Lumen judging and for the Lumen Gala, while Heather Lion, HLB Lighting/ is her co-chair for the judging section and Shoshana Segal, HLB Lighting is co-chair of the Gala.

For more information about the Lumens including how to submit entries visit: