In a unique rule change, the Tony Administration Committee announced that awards for lighting, set, and costume design will be given in two categories beginning with next year's awards.

Designers for both plays and musicals will be eligible for Tony Awards in those respective categories, doubling the design prizes to six. However, sound designers are still ineligible for an award.

The new rules were announced along with the news that a special 2004 Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre would go to Nancy Coyne, Frances and Harry Edelstein, Martha Swope, and the cast of Roundabout Theatre's Big River revival.

Among the other rule changes for 2005 are:

  • Duplicate Tony Award medallions for Best Revivals of a Musical and Play will now also be given to authors and composers or their representatives.

  • Duplicate medallions will also be presented for individuals integrally involved in the creation the Special Theatrical Event winner.