The Mix Foundation for Excellence in Audio has unveiled the nominees for the 15th annual Technical Excellence & Creativity Awards, to be held September 25 at the New York Marriott Marquis.

Held during the second night of the annual AES convention, this year's awards will honor engineer and producer Tom Dowd with the Les Paul Award. Dowd has worked with artists ranging from Ray Charles to Lynyrd Skynyrd to John Coltrane. This year's Les Paul Award honoree is artist and activist Sting.

"I can't think of a better place to celebrate the TEC Awards' 15th birthday than in New York City, where we launched the show in 1985," says Hillel Resner, president of the Mix Foundation. "We're planing on making this year's ceremony a giant party for the industry, which has so loyally supported us from the beginning."

The following is a list of nominees from categories of interest to readers of Entertainment Design:

Sound Reinforcement Company:A-1 Audio, Hollywood, CA; Clair Brothers, Lititz, PA; db Sound, Des Plaines, IL; Showco, Dallas, TX; Ultra Sound, San Rafael, CA

Audio Post-Production Facility: Howard Schwartz Recording, New York; Soundelux, Hollywood, CA; Sync Sound Inc., New York; Todd-AO Studios, Hollywood, CA; Warner Brothers, Burbank, CA

Audio Post-Production Engineer: Ken Hahn, Sync Sound; Chris Jenkins, Todd-AO Studios; Shawn Murphy; Sue Pelino, Sony Music Studios; Gary Rydstrom, Skywalker Sound

Sound Reinforcement Engineer:Robert "Cubby" Colby; John Cooper; Rich Davis, Sound Image; Dave Kob, Clair Brothers Dennis Savage

Amplifier Technology: Bryston 9B-ST Pro; Chevin Research Q6; Crown CP-660; Demeter VTHF300M; Mackie M2600; QSC PowerLight 9.0 PFC

Microphone Technology: AKG C4000B; Audio-Technica AT4060; CAD VX2; Neumann M147; Shure KSM 32; Soundelux U95S

Recording Devices/Storage Technology: Alesis M20; ATR Service Co. large format ATR-102; Euphonix R-1; Otari RADAR II; Quantegy GP9; Tascam DA-45

Sound Reinforcement Console Technology: Allen & Heath Icon; Amek Recall RN; ATI Paragon Monitor; Crest Audio V-12; Harrison Live Performance Console (LPC); Soundcraft Broadway

Small Format Console Technology: Allen & Heath GS-3000; Digidesign ProControl; Mackie Digital 8*Bus; Panasonic WR-DA7; Spirit Digital 328; Yamaha 01V

Large-Format Console Technology: Amek 9098I; AMS Neve Libra Post; D&R Octagon; Solid-State Logic Axiom-MT

Sound Reinforcement Loudspeaker Technology: Apogee Sound FH-4; Bag End TA600-R; EAW KF400A; Meyer PSW-6 Cardioid Subwoofer; Shure PSM600

The TEC Awards honor outstanding technical, creative, and institutional achievement in professional audio recording and sound production. The Mix Foundation for Excellence in Audio distributes proceeds from the ceremony to organizations involved in hearing conservation and to audio education scholarship programs. For more information and a complete list of nomination categories, go to the Mix website at