Shure Incorporated, the international manufacturer of microphones and other audio gear, was awarded the 2003 Technical Grammy by the National Academy of the Recording Arts and Sciences. The award is presented by the Recording Academy to individuals and/or companies that have made outstanding contributions of technical significance to the recording industry.

“In Shure's long and successful history, this has to be one of our finest moments,” Shure President and CEO Sandy LaMantia says. “We would like to extend our thanks to all of the artists and audio professionals for their continued support and recognition. We work hard to provide the tools for capturing sound, but we rely on the music community to provide the creative magic.”

The first Technical Grammy was awarded in 1994. Past recipients include Robert Moog, Les Paul, Ray Dolby, Rupert Neve, and Apple Computer. Shure is only the fifth company to claim the award.